To Trust or Not to Trust

Trust is important in all relationships. There are only two choices you can make when it comes to trust: Trust the person or don’t. But it’s hard. I’m not very good at trusting. I mean, I can trust on a superficial level, but when it comes to things about the real me, I’d rather not. Trusting and being honest can be scary. It requires being vulnerable.

The question you have to ask yourself is, is it worth it? Is it worth it to trust this person? Is it worth it to be honest with myself and others? What is more important to you, the truth or protecting yourself? Neither are mutually exclusive. You can protect yourself with the truth or with a lie. You can hurt people with both as well. 

“Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we learn to deceive.” Lies can turn into bigger lies. They question is why. Not why do lies grow, but why do we lie? I asked my group this; they lie to protect themselves and others. I believe it’s human nature to want to protect, to want to be accepted. 

I’ve noticed myself become more trusting of others as I’ve become more trusting of myself. How can we trust others if we don’t trust ourselves? Self forgiveness is an important part of building that self trust. 

Trust, honesty, and integrity all go hand in hand. These words are powerful. Being able to have them in a relationship builds a strong foundation. A strong foundation helps relationships survive the ups and downs in life. 

If there is a lack of trust in your relationship, you need to examine the reasons. You need to determine for yourself whether that trust can be rebuilt or not. No one else can decide for you. Others can advise, others can put out unhealthiness in relationships, but you have the final say. You and whoever else is in the relationship, that is.

So, what’s your choice: to trust or not.

Leave a Reply

