What’s LOVE got to do with it?

Hello, lovely people. I didn’t have a topic planned so I decided to dig through my drafts and found this partial post. The only reasonable thing to do is finish this. When I started writing it I realized that I wasn’t that interested in the topic, so I put it on hold. Now I revisit this post.

So I’ve decided that I will talk about love.

Not a new topic, but I’ve been thinking about the different types. Loving a friend is different than loving family. Romantic love is not the same as your everyday love. I’ve just been trying to make distinctions. My mind is in overdrive and there’s a story half created in there that got me thinking.

Love is something that can grow and change. Sometimes the change is so gradual that you aren’t aware. Other times you wake up one day and it hits you. Love is unexplainable. You can’t choose who you love or what type of love it is.

But love isn’t the solution for everything. Just because you love someone doesn’t mean that everything will work out. You can love someone and not want to be in a romantic relationship with the person. More than just love factors into the type of relationship that you have with someone.

This last week my group did an exercise using the book, “The Circles” by Kerry Armstrong. If you haven’t heard about it, there are seven circles. In the center, you put yourself and those you trust with your heart and soul, those who truly know you. From there each circle gets further away from, the people know you less or you trust them less.

This exercise forces you to think about your relationships and how you feel about the people in your life at that moment. The guys found the exercise to be interesting and difficult. I think that it is definitely a good thing to evaluate your relationships. It doesn’t have to be with the circles, but it should be done.

You have to ask yourself the tough questions: Do you trust this person? Does this person really know you? If the person has broken your trust, can they repair it? What do you want in your relationship? These are just some of the questions that you should ask yourself.

That’s all I have for this week. Next Sunday is Father’s Day. My plan is to have my next couple of post written ahead of time, or save several in my drafts for just in case. I will talk to all of you next week.

Leave a Reply

