To my Strong, Loving Men

I wrote a blog post last week, but looking back there is no post. I worked hard on that post and I swear I pushed publish. I have no evidence that it existed unless I overlooked it. The post wasn’t very good, but it was mine. Oh, well. On with today’s post.


This post is to all my strong, honorable men. When I say strong, I don’t mean physically. I don’t care about your muscles. I care about your heart. I care about what you stand for.

Fathers are seen as the protectors and providers of their families. They are called to lead, be the head of the household. That means different things to different people. I believe that fathers are to protect not only physically, but emotionally. To not only provide physical needs but emotional as well.

Too often men are taught to not show emotion, that it is strong to be that way. But that’s not really the example that your kids need. They need to know that it’s okay to show emotion, to feel. Fathers are role models to both their sons and daughters. You’ve probably heard the stats about fatherless children.

It’s not enough for a father to be present. They also need to be involved. Are you engaged in the lives of your kids? Do you know them? Or are you just the disciplinarian? Or are you always working?

I am lucky enough to have several people in my life who have been like fathers to me. That’s not to say that my father wasn’t there. Yes, there were times when he couldn’t be present for work and yes, I wish he had been more involved, but he was there for me and still is. In addition to that, my oldest brother and men from my church treated me with such love and respect.

So this is for all of them. To all the men who have someone younger in their lives who they care for. To all the men who are mentors. To the men who take care of their younger siblings. To the men working on themselves to become a better example for their children and the people in their lives. Thank you.

This world needs a new look on fathers. There are men living their lives and fighting the stereotypes. Men growing up young boys to love and respect everyone. Growing up young women to do the same and know how a man should treat them.

The world needs more strong men who are not afraid to stand up for something, who are not afraid to let people in and trust. I’m thankful that I get to see people struggle with this who are working to make changes. Working to be better than their father. Working to raise up children who are better than themselves.

Fatherhood is work, but it’s rewarding. Or so I’m told since I am not a father. I have love for all you who wear the title of father, dad, daddy, pops, grandpa, or any other variation of that title. You men are heroes to someone.

 

Leave a Reply

