Love is Patient, Love is Kind

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.
13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

1 Corinthians 13

What is love? (baby don’t hurt me. Don’t hurt me…no more. Oops. I’m supposed to be writing, not singing.) Some of you may not be religious or may belong to another faith. That’s cool, but don’t stop reading. Please? I really just want to look at verses 3 through the first part of 8. And honestly, there more of a reference. I’m not here to talk about God today, just love.

Love is an important part of our lives. Love makes the world go round, or something like that. What are we without love? Nothing. That’s what the start of the chapter is saying. I mean, think about it. Have you ever done something for selfish reason than done the same thing for a reason covered in love and felt a difference between the two? Have you ever felt empty because of a lack of love? I spent years of my life feeling empty most days. I knew I was loved but didn’t feel it and I  felt was though I couldn’t love either. Not a good feeling, trust me. Love has this ability to fill you up and replenish you. It can motivate you in a way nothing else can.

Too often people mistake other things for love. Infatuation, lust, jealousy are all things people take as signs of love. They’re not. Yes, you can love someone and get jealous, but it’s not the love making them jealous. Love comes with trust. The reason why we feel these things that love is not is because we are incapable of perfect, unconditional love.

We’re only human so we get jealous and boast. We compare our love to that of others and tend to measure it in things. Not all people do this, but it is something common. These things sometimes ruin the love we have. I’ve had to tell people that love isn’t enough. If our love was void of envy, pride, anger and these other negative emotions and filled with patience, kindness, and trust, it would be enough. Until then, we need to work on improving it. Loving wholeheartedly and not letting fears manipulate it.

Love. “L is for the way you look at me. O is for the only one I see. V is very, very extraordinary. E is even more than anyone that you adore. And love is all that I can give to you.” Okay, I’m ending this post before song number 3 pops into my head. I can’t take another song and dance break. I have other posts on other blogs to write. I will talk with you later, lovelies.

Leave a Reply

